Jaynehowarth’s Weblog

Journalist and writer

thank heavens for little boys

with 2 comments

I’ve just noticed something very interesting about the differences between girls and boys.

 My daughter (9) and her friend wanted to tidy the kitchen – so I let them (of course!). They were hard at work for over half an hour, cleaning surfaces, putting things away neatly in the right places, washing up a few bits and pieces and generally made the place look nice.

 They asked for a slice of cake as a reward for their hard work. Naturally, that was fine.

My son (7) and his friend were not to be outdone. Could they tidy the lounge, they asked. Well, I’d be a fool to say no.

 Within five minutes, it was done. That is not necessarily a comment on the original state of my lounge. I was asked to go in and inspect: yes, indeed it was tidy. Cushions plumped on the sofa, remote controls by the TV and assorted newspapers nowhere to be seen.

 The obligatory praise was offered and the reward was half an hour on the Wii.

 It was only when I returned five minutes later that I realised the truth: all the bits and pieces that needed to be tidied away neatly in the lounge had been shoved behind a chair in the corner, away from prying eyes.

 Ah! Boys! They learn young….

Written by CommonPeople

October 28, 2008 at 3:38 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bloke-style cleaning – it has served me well for many, many years.

    Paul Groves

    October 28, 2008 at 3:44 pm

  2. hehe – but I still do that and I’m a 40-year-old woman!

    Linda

    October 28, 2008 at 3:47 pm


Leave a Reply

