Jaynehowarth’s Weblog

Journalist and writer

A resolution not to make a resolution

with one comment

It’s a new year and that is traditionally the time to make resolutions, those pledges you make to yourself that will make you a better person, a cleverer and wittier one, a fitter and healthier body.

Me? I can’t be doing with any of that anymore. I know whatever I promise to do will either never be pursued or will be abandoned after a few weeks.

The resolutions I’ve made, which have never come to fruition, include:

·         Enrolling into a French class

·         Joining a gym

·         Going on a computer course

·         Losing weight

·         Learning Spanish/Italian/German

·         Reading more/watching less TV

·         Trying to have more patience

·         Walking more

·         Cycling more

So, the best option, so as not to disappoint myself again, is to forget about resolutions. That way I can’t let myself down again.

Hold on, though. Isn’t that a New Year’s resolution? And one I can keep?

So, have I made a resolution, or not?

Now I am confused.

Written by CommonPeople

January 1, 2009 at 3:53 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I made a resolution to not make any more New Years resolutions many years ago. It’s the only one I’ve ever kept.

    It’s good to set ourselves challenges and be resolute to do something but something about doing it at New Year seems to doom anything like that for failure where I’m concerned. I’m much more determined when I apply my own schedule.

    rachelcreative

    January 6, 2009 at 12:28 pm


Leave a Reply

