Jaynehowarth’s Weblog

Journalist and writer

The throwaway foodie – week 2

with one comment

Another week and another load of food goes to waste in my household.

thought I’d done quite well this week, but the results below speak for themselves.

The previous post explains what I’m doing, but basically, I am tracking all the food that goes to waste in my house that should have been used.

It might be that fruit has rotted when it could have been eaten (obviously) or turned into something else; yoghurts that should have been consumed before the use-by date; or anything that could have been wrapped up to munch on at a later time.

It’s something I’ve had a bee in my bonnet for a long time, but have decided to do something about it now.

This week my attention was drawn to http://www.therubbishdiet.co.uk/, which is an inspirational read and will ensure that my drive to produce less waste every week will happen.

 It made me realise that while my efforts were laudable, they were way off what I could be doing. Admittedly I was a little despondent at first when I read Almost Mrs Average’s posts from Bury St Edmunds. She is almost gaining superhuman qualities when it comes to disposal of waste, but I am determined to slim my bin.

The great news this week was that neighbouring streets have started to receive their new small capacity bins from the local council, which means our old bins can soon be used for doorstep cardboard and plastics recycling. It might mean my garage will be clear (ish).

I’ve annoyed myself this week, however, my throwing away food that was grown on our allotment. As far as I’m concerned that is unforgiveable: waste of time and effort (by the man of the house) and a waste of food.

So, this week’s list of shame is:

Half a pack of cherry tomatoes*

Carrot*

Half  a bag of potatoes*

Large cabbage (from the allotment)*

Two-thirds of a jar of horseradish sauce

One large homemade pizza (it should have been covered up and eaten for lunch. One hundred lazy points and a big red FAIL for me).

Five Santa biscuits (left mouldering in the back of a cupboard)

Two small pots of yoghurt

Two-thirds of a large pot of yoghurt.

(*denotes that it was composted.)

I have made a conservative estimate about the money I’ve essentially incinerated and it’s about £4.50. I’ve not counted the cabbage from the allotment. Over a year that would £234, which is way below average (Government figures put that at about £420). But it is more than last week – and who wouldn’t rather have that £234 in their pocket than on the composter or in the landfill?

The challenge this week is to use the celery I bought for a recipe that required just one stick. I’m adamant I won’t let the rest rot in the fridge.

And I must try harder next week. Onwards and upwards!

 

Written by CommonPeople

January 16, 2009 at 11:32 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Jayne – have just come across your blog. Thanks so much for the mention. Hope it’s all going well…I’m looking forward to see how you get on😀

    Almost Mrs Average

    February 16, 2009 at 10:03 pm


Leave a Reply

