Jaynehowarth’s Weblog

Journalist and writer

Diary of a throwaway foodie: week 3

with one comment

Another week of shame, but I have noticed a pattern developing already with my throwaway food habits.

This is the third week of tracking the food that I throw away and it is developing into an obsession. There is much heart-searching when I chuck something out that could have been used if it weren’t for the fact that I was too lazy to do anything with it.

As much as anything, it’s what to include and not include in the list. The crusts from the children’s packed lunches? No. But uneaten yoghurts, yes, because they couldn’t be eaten after hours in a bag in an overheated classroom.

The leftovers on the dinner plate or in the breakfast bowl? No, because they couldn’t be reused anyway. But extra portions of dinner that have to be chucked out after a day because no one could be bothered to cover it up and stick it in the fridge? Yes, because it is wasteful.

The beginning of the week is efficient food-wise with very little being discarded, which is great. It seems to be Throwaway Thursday when it goes wrong: when you realise that there is little left in the fridge before the weekend shop and what is left is out of date.

I have noticed that I am eating more leftovers: whether or not that has an impact on my waistline is something I’ll have to watch out for. Am I eating more just so I don’t add it to my list? That is a possibility, but it isn’t deliberate, perhaps subconscious (well it was, until I thought about it. It’ll be a deliberate choice now, of course).

Part of this self-inflicted challenge was to look at the amount of rubbish I threw away, too, although it is very much a minor walk-on role. However, only one full bag of refuse was collected by the bin men this week (I didn’t put in the half used bag), which means that only 30 litres of unrecyclable waste has gone to the landfill.

I was very excited to receive a new bin this week (my life is not one great long party!), which means that the local authority will soon be changing its doorstep recycling collection to include yoghurt pots, Tetra packs, plastics, plastic bags, cardboard and greetings cards alongside the usual paper, glass and tins.

But, to the main point, which is my food shame. Here it is:

A half tub of vegetarian pate

Full pack of coriander*

125g of cottage cheese

Half a pint of skimmed milk

One mango

2 Frube yoghurts (should have frozen them and forgot)

Half a small tub of creamed cheese

3 pots of fruit yoghurt

One-quarter of a white loaf

Three lollipops (junk!)

Six small chocolate bars that no one liked (part of a raffle prize at Christmas)

Comic pear*

(*denotes it was composted).

I’ve totted this grand list to about £4.80. I’ve not included the sweets as we didn’t buy them. Over a year that would be £249.60, so about the same as last week.

Despite my efforts, I’m not improving at all. Time to think of a new strategy for next week!

Written by CommonPeople

January 23, 2009 at 3:20 pm

Posted in Jayne's posts

Tagged with , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Even am agree with the kind of message you want to convey through your post

    Schokoladen Blog

    January 24, 2009 at 7:27 am


Leave a Reply

