Jaynehowarth’s Weblog

Journalist and writer

Am I winning the battle against waste?

with 3 comments

I can see the disappointment in your eyes; I’m sorry, I’m sorry.
I was meant to write a weekly blog post about my food disposal habits. My excuse is that I went away and the hotel’s wifi connection was down.
So, instead I have collated two weeks’ worth of rubbish (literally!) and put them together in one post.
After week four’s glowing report of a satisfyingly empty bin, this past fortnight sees me a little more circumspect.
As I suspected, week four was a blip, but I still think I’m doing well, even though the time has not been set aside to polish my halo.
However, the freezer is fuller than normal because I have made a concerted effort to save any leftovers that can be reused, turn stale bread into breadcrumbs and made sure anything close to its use by date that isn’t going to be consumed is packed up and sent to cold storage for another day if it can be, of course. Some things can’t, of course.
Last week (week five) it was fruit and vegetables that let me down – or, more accurately, we didn’t eat enough of them, so they go off. It’s incredibly soul-destroying to see fresh items deteriorate as they lay uneaten, their destiny only for the compost bin.
This week (week six), it’s dairy produce that has been left in the fridge to grow into something beardy and horrid that has let me down.
On the up side, our new recycling regime – introduced by the local authority has meant I have a very full 160litre bin of recyclable items and just a 30litre bag of rubbish destined for the landfill.
So the two week tally of thrown away food is as follows:
Banana*
5 apples*
5 potatoes*
Two home-grown parsnips*
Three home-grown beetroot*
Satsuma
1 ½ packs of shiitake*
Entire tub of Quark
300ml crème fraiche
1/3 pint of skimmed milk
*= composted
That comes to about £4.70’s worth of food thrown away– not too bad over a fortnight, I guess, but I still have the magical goal of NOTHING being chucked out over a prolonged period. Soon? Fingers crossed…

Written by CommonPeople

February 13, 2009 at 1:20 pm

Posted in Jayne's posts

Tagged with , , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. £4.70 over a fortnight is good, I think.
    If you get down to a zero figure, will that make you a perfect house keeper/Domestic Goddess ?
    Where do you go from there?
    Does home grown produce count as waste ? If you are growing it , and then composting it , well , isn’t that completely ” green ” ?

    weird and bearded

    February 13, 2009 at 2:12 pm

  2. Wow – that is brilliant. If you want to make fresh produce last longer, I can recommend the Fresh Pod, which you just pop in the fridge: See http://www.freshpod.co.uk😀

    Almost Mrs Average

    February 16, 2009 at 10:06 pm

  3. RE weird and bearded: I know I’m not wasting money per se if home-grown goes in the compost, but it’s still tragic for all that effort to go to nought!

    Almost Mrs Average: love gadgets etc. Will check it out. Thnak you!

    jaynehowarth

    February 17, 2009 at 7:45 am


Leave a Reply

