Jaynehowarth’s Weblog

Journalist and writer

Gordon Bennett: Gordon Ramsay apologises to veggies

with one comment

I read with astonishment this weekend that Gordon Ramsay has apologised for his sneery attitude towards vegetarians.

The Michelin-starred chef has long bad-mouthed those who don’t eat meat.

[picapp align=”right” wrap=”true” link=”term=Gordon+Ramsay&iid=5907669″ src=”e/5/6/e/reality_television_5b9c.JPG?adImageId=9146954&imageId=5907669″ width=”234″ height=”268″ /]

Even Sir Paul McCartney labelled the Scottish chef as “stupid” after the F-Word presenter rounded on non-meat eaters in 2008, saying “If one of my daughters’ boyfriends turns out to be vegetarian I swear to God I’d never forgive them.”

The foul-mouthed chef has also been  quoted as saying: “My biggest nightmare would be if the kids ever came up to me and said ‘Dad, I’m a vegetarian’. Then I would sit them on the fence and electrocute them.”

But now, we read in The Times (Saturday, January 16) that the chef has actually garnered some grudging respect for those who eschew the eating of flesh.

On a visit to India – escaping* his annus horribilis last year – he stayed at an ashram.

“I loved it,” he says. “I now apologise to all vegetarians for being rude about them. I love them. I loved being on an ashram. I thought I would hate it, but I could’ve stayed there for a long time.”

I wonder what he felt like when he experienced his epiphany?

And it leads me to this question: what strongly-held view have you subsequently apologised for when you changed your views?

(* as an aside. I thought it was interesting that he escaped his awful year – which was probably not as awful as his wife Tana’s – with a camera crew for a TV programme.)

Written by CommonPeople

January 17, 2010 at 3:37 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by JayneHowarth, JayneHowarth. JayneHowarth said: blog post: Gordon Ramsay apologises to veggies http://bit.ly/53LzfJ what have you apologised for? […]


Leave a Reply

