Jaynehowarth’s Weblog

Journalist and writer

My fantasy meal: a meme post

leave a comment »

I was tagged by Tara over at Sticky Fingers, who was looking for bloggers to join in her fantasy meal. It is a fun challenge – deciding your favourite meal  and then choosing the companions from TV/movie and book worlds for each course.

What a great challenge! Not only do I get to think about food, I get to think about Johnny Depp again…

It was more difficult than I thought. I have at least a top 20 list of puddings, at least five starters and a couple of mains to choose from. Yes, I do have a sweet tooth. But here it is: my fantasy meal + companions. Enjoy.

Drink:

Latte. If I am out and about, I MUST have a latte somewhere, somehow, even if it means the children having a cake so I can indulge my weakness. You’re right, you simply cannot have latte as a *must have* drink.

Oh – OK – Champagne. If I must. Vintage, please, or it’ll make me feel a bit weird and “bleach in the tummy” feeling.

[picapp align=”right” wrap=”false” link=”term=johnny+depp+and+alice+in+wonderland&iid=8099368″ src=”b/c/9/7/Alice_In_Wonderland_6485.jpg?adImageId=12421122&imageId=8099368″ width=”234″ height=”312″ /]

Who will I drink this delicious bubbly with? My husband, of course.  Or Johnny Depp. Don’t let me get in the way of a pic of Johnny Depp here *sigh* Sure my husband won’t mind …

Starter: spinach, red onion, avocado ciabbata and parmesan salad.

My favourite starter EVER is audaciously simple, but incredibly lovely.  I always have this when it’s my “birthday meal”. I could eat bowls of it.

The cubes of cheesy ciabbata are made into parmesan-topped croutons, very crunchy and warm, while the crisp raw baby leaves and red onion are raw and vibrant. The avocado adds a delicious creaminess.

Who would I love to delicately munch this salad with?

My companion for this course would be children’s book writer: Roald Dahl. His descriptions of food were mouth-wateringly fantastic or stomach-churningly gross. He would be fascinating company – he was my literary hero when I was young and I still love his stories now.

Main course:  Cheese-stuffed ravioli baked with tomato sauce and mozzarella

Another all-time favourite dish of mine (usually follows the starter from above). Homely, comforting and familiar, yet deceptively delicious. My children love this dish, so if we eat a “nice” meal as a family, there are no complaints, just appreciative chomping. Happy family moments are the best!

[picapp align=”right” wrap=”false” link=”term=cary+grant&iid=3049499″ src=”c/4/3/9/Cary_Grant_51d7.jpg?adImageId=12421196&imageId=3049499″ width=”234″ height=”298″ /]

But if I were to choose a movie icon to share this meal with, it would be Cary Grant *swoon*. Homely, familiar and deceptively tasty …

Pudding: Bailey’s and cream soaked brioche bread and butter pudding

Few of us in the family like Christmas pudding, so when I came across this recipe in a newspaper a few years ago, we decided to give it a go to finish our festive meal.  It is utterly gorgeous and indulgent, rich and creamy with a hint of naughtiness from the Bailey’s. Low fat, too *ahem*. We only eat this at Christmas. It simply would not do to have it at any other time of the year…

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”false” link=”term=colin+firth&iid=8195070″ src=”6/a/3/a/82nd_Annual_Academy_89ce.jpg?adImageId=12421199&imageId=8195070″ width=”234″ height=”352″ /]

Although if Colin Firth were around, I’d make an exception. And, no, he wouldn’t have to be dressed at Mr Darcy (although I wouldn’t complain if he did turn up looking 18th century dashing).

So, who can I tag now? I’ll add those later. But in the meantime, if you decide you want to join in this, add a link to your blog in the comment area. I’d love to know your fantasy meal!

Written by CommonPeople

April 13, 2010 at 9:09 am

Leave a Reply

