Jaynehowarth’s Weblog

Journalist and writer

Pet corner: a Gallery post for Tara

leave a comment »

N with Scamper

I’ve rarely contributed to Tara Cain’s Gallery because time just seems to fly by.

But Creatures (this week’s theme) was easier as I had the photos on my laptop.

It;s about Scamper and Squeak.

Last year, I capitulated on the pet front. I said no to cats and dogs (OH is allergic to the fur, thankfully).

We’d tried several goldfish, but they never last more than three weeks.

After the tragedy of several dearly departed fishes, the pestering for pets stopped.

Then it started again.

This time, I agreed to let them have a pet – but no rats or gerbils. I’d have loved a chinchilla, but they are a bit pricey. I love rabbits, but only the cute ickle ones.

But guinea pigs. Yes! I love guinea pigs. They could each have a guinea pig: two are needed for companionship.

Squeak

So, Scamper and Squeak came into our lives. I *adore* them. They squeak madly, love their fresh carrots and brassicas, and are genuinely friendly – even jumping onto my lap when we have them on a blanket in the hall.

I worried madly when winter approached, so moved them to the greenhouse to keep them out of the bitter cold (OH -who fusses them and talks to them as much as any of us – refused to have them in the house).

I chat to them more than the children do. I fuss them and feed them far too many carrot tops. But, look at them – awwwwwwww.

Written by CommonPeople

June 22, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Posted in Jayne's posts

Leave a Reply

