Jaynehowarth’s Weblog

Journalist and writer

It’s the end of an era

with 5 comments

It’s not every week I find myself feeling a bit wobbly when doing the ironing.

I mean, I hate ironing and could cry each time I see the pile of clothing that needs doing.

But this week was different.

This week I ironed my daughter’s primary school uniform for the last time. And, look, I even took a photograph of it (except one shirt, skirt and cardigan, which she was already wearing by the time I got round to doing this).

Five small-ish shirts, two cardigans, a skirt, pair of trousers and a pair of culottes (you never know what the weather is going to be like). All done.

As I (kind of) ironed out the creases of each item, I thought back to how I first proudly ironed the aged 2-3 grey school skirt, crisp white polo shirts and bright red cardigan she wore when she first went to the school in nursery. Always desperate to grow up, she couldn’t wait to put on her uniform for “big” school.

Now we’re buying a proper blazer, garish tartan skirt, trousers from only one shop, a tie (five stripes showing, please, or she’ll be sent home), a PE kit to be worn for every sport known to man – including gum shield, and a “performing arts” kit.

I get a lump in my throat even thinking of her leaving the cosy environs of a primary school, a place where everyone knows each other and everyone is made to feel special.

I’m dreading the leavers’ service on Friday and know that I and my friends will be blubbering idiots at the end of it, while our partners laugh at our emotional outbursts.

But it’s the end of an era – and it’s all about to get very serious.

It’s all about to get very scary.

And she can’t wait.

Written by CommonPeople

July 19, 2010 at 2:26 pm

Posted in Jayne's posts

Tagged with , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh, what a lovely post. And gosh, you must have done a lot of ironing over the years (I avoid it at all costs but I guess school uniforms can’t really go without…)

    I’m glad your daughter’s looking forward to what’s coming next, I’m sure I was dreading it at her age (20 years ago now. Argh!)

    diane

    July 19, 2010 at 2:40 pm

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by steve nicholls and JayneHowarth, Prize Sheep . Prize Sheep said: we loved this Jayne! RT @JayneHowarth: I've actually managed a v short personal blog post: It's the end of an era: http://bit.ly/bxPzso […]

  3. Just how I’m feeling at the moment Jayne. Only, as usual, I have to put a positive spin on things otherwise I would let it get to me. To this affect I look at it like this… For Sale. Slightly soiled boys trousers, 5 red jumpers, sports kit and a selection of shoes. Would suit 10/11 year old or very small adult.

    Not sure I can make the leavers service. Besides, I refuse to blub in front of other parents.

    Great post!

    Mr Stroud

    July 19, 2010 at 7:21 pm

  4. Thanks for your comments.
    Diane – I also dreaded secondary school, mainly because I was the only one going from my juniors, but also because I didn’t want to leave the cosy confines of primary schools (I clearly wore rose-tinted specs at that age).

    Ian – glad you are still putting a positive spin on things, despite what’s going on. Hope to see you at the Leavers’ Service. if not, there will be plenty of us happy to represent the Strouds, too (and blub in your absence). J x

    Jayne Howarth

    July 20, 2010 at 10:37 am

  5. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thank you

    ebiuro

    April 3, 2013 at 8:48 pm


Leave a Reply

