Jaynehowarth’s Weblog

Journalist and writer

September is my New Year

with 2 comments

For years I have maintained that September 1 is the REAL New Year, the time when resolutions should be made.

How many of us make solemn pledges to ourselves as the final bars of Olde Lange Syne fade into the ether, only to abandon them by mid January?[picapp align=”right” wrap=”false” link=”term=new+year’s+eve&iid=3324244″ src=”http://view3.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/3324244/debbie-does-new-years/debbie-does-new-years.jpg?size=500&imageId=3324244″ width=”234″ height=”290″ /]

And January is such a depressing month to be making big changes: you are still coming down from the heady excitement of Christmas (avoiding all bills until February) and it feels so very, very flat. It’s dark, dank, gloomy. Usually wet or snowy. It is not the time to be planning dramatic weight loss.

So, September 1 it is for me.

Why? It’s probably something to do with the new school year, when new beginnings are tangible and you could see the challenges ahead. And there’s a chance the sun is still shining. It feels a more positive time to set challenges.

So it is with me.

For the past two years, I have been toying with the idea of not changing my career, but enriching it. Journalism is my first love and always will be. But I need something else.

I love the idea of teaching, but not being a teacher (this makes sense in my head). I feel utter frustration when I read stories of adults who cannot read or do not have sufficient literacy skills to get a job. [picapp align=”left” wrap=”false” link=”term=reading+a+book&iid=6751297″ src=”http://view1.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/6751297/the-new-term-begins-for/the-new-term-begins-for.jpg?size=500&imageId=6751297″ width=”234″ height=”153″ /]

I cannot imagine their despair. What must it be like to pick up a book and not being able to understand the words? What must it be like to look for a job, knowing you cannot read the adverts? If they have children, they are denied the pleasure of cuddling up and reading together.

After two years’ prevarication, I actually took the plunge last night and signed up for a course that will, hopefully, lead to a new and important strand in my life: teaching literacy skills to adults.

The course starts in a month and I am very excited. I hope I’m good enough. There are far too many people out there who do not have the skills they need and they deserve the very best help.

Written by CommonPeople

September 10, 2010 at 11:45 am

Posted in Jayne's posts

Tagged with , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Maybe you should celebrate Rosh Hashanna, the Jewish NY, which was yesterday?

    Expat Mum

    September 10, 2010 at 6:46 pm

  2. You know, I did think that when I published this post!
    Thank you for reading.

    jaynehowarth

    September 10, 2010 at 7:41 pm


Leave a Reply

